To New Adventures

We bought a Sprinter Van

Niki Madore
4 min readJan 12, 2022
Photo by Nubia Navarro (nubikini) from Pexels

We bought a sprinter van but let’s rewind a bit.

Three years ago, I moved back to my hometown where I grew up. My husband and I sold everything, including the house we thought we would retire in. Our house. We moved because my father said he wanted to retire and he would be getting rid of the family business unless I wanted it. Everything in my life to that point had been preparing me to be that person, the person who could stand on their own, drop everything, and chase their dreams. I quit my job, left my friends, sold our house, and here we are 3 years later.

My childhood home, photo by Author

We had no intentions of living with my father for very long — just enough time to find the right property. That property never came, then the pandemic hit, and the housing market skyrocketed. To top it all off, my husband was diagnosed with an auto-immune disease and our best friend, our dog of 13 years passed away days before the first lockdown. Our world along with the rest of the world was falling apart.

Once everything began to fall into some weird resemblance of the new normal, we realized that things were not going back to the way they were and we needed a plan…

--

--

Niki Madore

An avid reader, poet, deep thinker, skier, and occasional skydiver. Always encouraging others to begin their journey to live authentically.